A Day In the Life

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 11.44.58 PM

No one wakes up in morning, thinking about how they have blonde hair and blue eyes. No one thinks about how his or her abnormally sized nose is going to be perceived by the general public. Just like them, I don’t think about the things that make me different. I don’t think about needing a stepstool in the morning to grab my clothes out of the closet. I just get one and get ready to start my day. I don’t think about the pedal extenders on my car that will help me get to work. I don’t think about the stool that sits underneath my feet at my desk. It’s all just a part of life. I don’t think about my dwarfism until someone reminds me.

Some days I can go the whole day without being reminded. Most days I receive the gift of rude, inconsiderate people that remind me constantly. Yesterday was one of those days. When I was able to get tickets to go see Luke Bryan, I jumped at the opportunity. I knew just the person I wanted to bring, my friend Lindsey, whom I consider a little sister, who also happens to be a dwarf.

We were so excited as we drove to the venue, but my excitement slowly dissipated as I slowly realized that you can’t bring two dwarfs, especially females, anywhere without the jackasses of the world showing up. It started right after we parked. I overhear two teenaged boys saying, “Look, it’s a midget.” I hoped that Lindsey didn’t hear this, but I know that she does. I can tell it bothers her just as much as it bothers me. So we’re less than five minutes in and the performance hasn’t even started and already the allure and excitement of the day has worn off.

We decide to head to the bathroom before the concert starts and notice people looking and staring at us while we’re waiting in line. It’s not easy, but we ignore it. It’s just become part of our daily life and at this point, has just become borderline accepted. For most people, getting to use a Port-A-Potty would be a pretty terrible experience. Not for us, at least it gave us a few moments to not be stared at.

After our Port-A-Potty adventure, we get on line with our tickets to go into the show. While waiting, I notice two people take our picture as if we were the new additions to the polar bear exhibit at the Indianapolis Zoo. You know, like we’re not humans. I ignore it. I knew things like this would possibly and almost probably would happen. I ignore it out of fear of creating a scene and making the situation worse. I know that no matter what I do I’m not going to change the perception of the ignorant people there and only risked Lindsey’s and my safety. Afterwards, we have the honor of meeting a fan of ours. A man, reeking of Pabst Blue Ribbon, came over to us, crouched down, and told us that “y’all are the sexiest people I ever seen.” We knew that we were sexy to him for only one reason. His beer goggles were only seeing our height.

After Mr. PBR leaves, another fan of ours comes up to us and asks to take our picture. I politely decline, which causes him to go off on a rant about how we are discriminating against him and he knows what it is like to be different because he is 6’5. The first thoughts that come to my mind are “How in the hell is this offensive to you? What are you going to do with this picture? Are you going to share it with your friends and post on Instagram and Snapchat about how you met a midget?” Instead of saying what I really wanted to say, I tell him to check out Little People of America’s website and learn more about people with dwarfism. This is not met with the same enthusiasm he had before. He tried one more time to get a picture with us. I just scream “NO!” at him. Finally, he asks for a hug. I realize that this is the only way to get rid of him. I decide to begrudgingly accept. It’s then that I notice a line forming behind our new friend, like Santa had arrived three months early. When giving him a hug, I hope that he realizes that we’re human and have feelings, but I know it’s probably all for naught.

After he leaves, the next guy in line asks us for a hug and all I can hear is his friends laughing, with their iPhones out. At this point, I’m done. I try to see if I can spot a security guard to help us, but I see no one. It then hits me. I have not seen a single security guard while there. I know there’s no chance of one showing up now. I look over at Lindsey and can see she’s angry and fed up just like me. Even though she doesn’t say a word, I can tell she wants to get out of there, but doesn’t want to tell me. I tell her that we’ll stay for three songs and try to get some value out of the night. Within the next five minutes, I see two more people taking a picture. I grab Lindsey and decide that we’re out of there. We hop in my car, get on the highway, and head home without having heard a single song. Basically we spent a couple of hundred bucks to get mocked.

Sadly, nearly every person with dwarfism has a story similar to this one. In many cases, it’s not just one. Times when they were made to feel less human than the rest of the world. When they were treated like they were put on this world to entertain those they came in contact with. October is Dwarfism Awareness Month. The purpose is to educate people about those with dwarfism, what they go through, the ups and the downs. This month, and every month, I ask that we try to treat people a little bit better, especially those with differences. Let’s try to make this world a better place to live.

83 thoughts on “A Day In the Life

  1. I am so sorry that you were treated that way. I know people can be so cruel. I hope you will allow me to share what happened to you on Luke Bryans website to make him aware.

    Like

  2. Great post. I’ve noticed that the amount of harassment I receive at concerts depends on the music genre. DubStep and Folk/Indi I get next to none. Pop and House, I get basically lynch mobbed every time. Guess who now hates pop music;)

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry you were put through this. I hope if nothing else reading about your experience might make some of the less sensitive people among us aware of any of their own questionable behavior. I can only imagine how hard it might be not to be able to disappear into a crowd if you wanted to. I know it’s usually my instinct!

    Point is, sorry people can really, REALLY suck and that you see it more than most. But I can see that your spirit is fierce and I hope undaunted.

    Like

  4. Rebecca,

    I am so proud of you for being strong and speaking out. That night probably sucked but I truly believe God uses us to influence others. Speaking out on the subject is educating so many and I’m sure this is spreading through social media.

    I can almost bet you will be made whole someway or another on the concert but if not just know that speaking out and helping other little people down the road is so much more important. You are changing lives!

    “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭139:13-14‬ ‭NIV‬‬
    http://bible.com/111/psa.139.13-14.niv

    Take care.

    ~ Stan

    Like

  5. I dont know when or where it was that people lost their humanity. It’s truly a shame that we as a nation cannot come together and help one another and educate each other on people’s differences. Just because you may not be as tall as I am, doesn’t mean your heart beats any differently and that your feelings are smaller or less significant. I’ve lost faith in humanity as a whole, people need to learn to love one another instead of accentuating the differences and ridiculing each other.

    Like

  6. me and my friend attended the Farm Tour in Starville, Ms. We left before Luke took the stage ,also! After waiting 7 hours to ensure a by the stage spot we left! The rude younger drinkers and party goers, were literally pushing us and some younger kids to the point, I thought the young kids mother politely asked them to ease up some. And she was ignored and laughed at! I know it’s a concert, but really wish I could have enjoyed it! Not meant for mature people, I do believe! If you wanna soberly enjoy Luke Bryan stay at home… Wasted day and time! Never again!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I hated leaving after waiting for 7 hours, I took one of the ladies, whom works for me,her first concert….was a disappointment and waste of time! The grounds seemed to be lacking brought in security. Using the small town law enforcement as security leaves the oh well I know them , and a lot is overlooked. I was heart broken after waiting 7 hours and driving 2 hours to get there!

        Like

  7. I hated leaving after waiting for 7 hours, I took one of the ladies, whom works for me,her first concert….was a disappointment and waste of time! The grounds seemed to be lacking brought in security. Using the small town law enforcement as security leaves the oh well I know them , and a lot is overlooked. I was heart broken after waiting 7 hours and driving 2 hours to get there!

    Like

  8. I first read an article via facebook that had a video clip from your news interview about this negative experience. Yes, I’m nauseated by the ill treatment y’all received. I could go on and on…but instead, I want to tell you what went through my mind during the entire video clip: I don’t think I’ve ever seen prettier eyes than yours! Gorgeous! I guess I need to get myself to jelly school… Take care and love life!

    Like

  9. I am so sorry people treated you like that. I attended the Farm tour in New Haven, In. I went with My 16 year old daughter and I will agree there were several rude and agressive people there. I don’t recall seeing any security anywhere except on stage and whenever a fight broke out in the crowds. You seem like such a sweet person and I am so sorry you weren’t able to stay because people couldn’t behave themselves. People need to treat others with respect and know to keep there mouths shut if they don’t have anything nice to say. Hopefully you and your friend will be able to catch a Luke Bryan co concert in the future. Warm regards, Shannon.

    Like

  10. I hope Luke Bryan sees this and pays these 2 girls a visit. For the idiots at the concert,you can’t help it, we can’t fix stupid.

    Like

  11. Hey Rebecca, that is the utmost terrible thing to happen to you, it disgraces me at the amount is disrespect people have for others these days. Just to give you a heads up, this is a post on facebook that one of our friendly radio stations have posted!!! (Pat is the DJ who posted it)

    92.9 The Bull

    Pat: This is incredibly heartbreaking and cruel. Just because someone is physically different than you does NOT give you any right to harass them. They’re country fans and they paid money just like you, they deserve to see the show in peace. The fact that they had to leave is terrible.

    So here is our promise: If Luke Bryan is announced for Saskatoon, we will fly these two young ladies up here, and The Bull crew will take them to the show. We’ll show them that Saskatoon country fans will not discriminate. We’ll show them that it’s all about having a great time and enjoying some great music with great friends.
    Let’s hope Luke Bryan gets announced for Saskatoon! If so, Rebecca, you and your friend are in for some old fashioned Saskatchewan hospitality

    Like

  12. People are so rude. Im really sorry this happened to you ladies. People really don’t realize what they do to other people when they are actually making fun of someone else. If people would only understand they have their own downfalls in life. God did not make them perfect either. I hope Luke Bryan heard about this and his next concert should be giving you two ladies free tickets. Good Luck and always remember you are one of Gods children also. Hold your head up high, and just keep on enjoying life and country music…

    Like

  13. I’m a little person and I experience this as you may know. First, I want to say thank you for sharing. Also, everything we go through is for a reason. Sometimes I just wish there were days I could go out and there are no negative comments, stares, etc…. But unfortunately that won’t happen. We just have to remain strong, and embrace ourselves. Keep your head up. I understand what you’re going through!
    Tarnisha Thomas❤️

    Like

  14. Doesn’t matter who you go to see now days, all concerts are like that. I had to block people from trampling my 8 year old at a Taylor Swift concert. It is awful. I don’t know what has come over people. My daughter has pituitary dwarfism, which while not as noticeable and more treatable, has not always been fun for her. I know that she hasn’t been through half of what you have been through, but I do understand how people can be. I hope that you stay strong and I admire your spunk. Don’t let the morons of the world change you.

    Like

  15. I wish so badly that I could have been at that concert to stand up for you and Lindsey. Growing up with Tourette Syndrome, I know all too well what those stares, comments, jabs, and jokes feel like. Even hearing that you all visited a Port-a-Potty for relief is something I admit I’ve done to hide from the world and be my twitchy self.

    It may seem like the world is filled with messed up people, but I promise you good ones exist too. If you ever visit WV and run in to me, you better believe I’ll treat you like the awesome person that you are!!

    – Billy

    Like

  16. Although I am not a little woman, I know what it is like to be harassed. It is very unfair that those bigots did that to y’all and I’m mortified that such things could happen to any person! Society is getting out of hand with such behaviors and I really hope that you both get to see a concert without getting stopped for being different. You are both beautiful and I love how you have a voice enough to stick up for yourself, which is something I cannot do… I will be sharing your story to spread awareness. Thank you for taking the time to write down and share your experience to open the eyes of people everywhere, no matter the stature.

    Like

  17. Astonishing and awful stories. Not astonishing to you, of course. But the rest of us need to be aware as well. Thanks for the courage and artfulness to write such a compelling story.

    Like

  18. I’m so sorry you had to put up with this behavior Rebecca, stuff like this breaks my heart. Thanks for sharing your story. I posted this on Facebook, my Facebook poetry page and, my Twitter. I get a sense of what you must have been feeling. I’m 5’6, maybe shorter, I’m not sure my exact height but, all of my life people have teased me about being short. I am sure you get 10 folds what I have gotten. Stay strong! Keep an eye on my blog here, I’ll be writing a poem about this to help raise awareness ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

